Pink Grapefruit Sandwich Cookies

Lately I’ve been thinking about bright, pretty things that remind me of being a girl, daintiness in general, and looking at life through rose-colored glasses. My senior year has been more grueling that expected and I didn’t really get the chance to catch up on all the fall and holiday baking I had wanted to do.

Pink grapefruit sandwich cookies from one of Martha Stewart’s recipes is a nice girly cookie to counteract the rather blah constants in my life right now, like my androgynous, de facto school outfit of black workout pants and a hoodie. Admittedly, the recipe is not 100% perfect, but baking for me is as much about the process as it is about the product.

Start with a nice juicy pink grapefruit and your zester.

Zest all around, and juice the grapefruit.


Mix the zest around with a tablespoon of sugar.

Whisk the dry ingredients together. That’s your flour, cake flour, salt, and baking powder.

Cream together room temperature butter and sugar until nice and fluffy.

Two egg yolks go into the sugar and butter mixture. My yolk broke. :(

Incorporate the sugary zest…

Add a portion of the dry ingredients…

Mix, and then alternate with the grapefruit juice.

Beautiful, fluffy, soft (but wet and hard to handle) dough! So we wrap it up and refrigerate it for a little bit. After an hour or two, roll it out and get some round-ish cookie cutters.

I really wish these cookies kept their shape more… I love these fluted biscuit cutters.

At the very least, using cookie cutters (as opposed to just rolling dough balls like you would for drop cookies) keeps the cookies a consistent size and shape so that making them little sandwiches is much easier.

Now make the filling.

I love the slight tinge of pink from the grapefruit juice.

Fill. Enjoy the messiness of frosting.

Consume.

Full recipe can be found on Martha Stewart’s website.

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl that just relocated to Oxford, England after graduating from college. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

8 Responses to Pink Grapefruit Sandwich Cookies

  1. Anna says:

    What a great recipe! Yumm!

  2. Jessa says:

    These cookies seemed so promising, but they were weird. :(
    Grapefruits are yummy, but these cookies are not worth the trouble.
    You would think Martha would not do something like this!!!

    • I agree with you somewhat. Like I said in my post, the dough is very wet and hard to handle. But I still think the results are quite delicious! Definitely not one of Martha’s best recipes, but my friends still enjoyed the cookies.

      • Jessa says:

        Yeah, in hindsight, they were not that bad. I put less of the grapefruit peel in my second batch of cookies and they were much better, but still odd.I think they had a lot of potential, but somehow the grapefruit in my batches was either too powerful or nonexistent. Thanks for making this post though! Your blog is lovely. :)

  3. cheersdarln says:

    These sound delightful with a cup of tea! I don’t really care for grapefruit but I love the idea of just enough without it being too grapefruity.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

