Cream Cheese and Chive Biscuits

I haven’t made biscuits in a while. Last time I made them, the entire batch fed my boyfriend for several meals during a weekend I went home. Seeing that I’m home this weekend to spend some much needed time with my parents, I couldn’t leave my boyfriend biscuit-less. That would certainly be a tragedy. Thankfully, a recipe from my trusty Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook was waiting faithfully in the wings.

To make these biscuits, you will need buttermilk and chives. I couldn’t bring myself to buy an entire carton of buttermilk, so I found out how to make my own buttermilk. This adjustment worked out great.

After washing and patting the chives dry, cut them into teeny pieces. The color and the smell are to die for.

After chopping them up, toss them into your bowl of flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and sugar. Whisk everything together until evenly distributed.

Cut the cream cheese and unsalted butter into chunks so that’s it’s easier to incorporate.

A dough blender would be mighty handy at this stage, but my boyfriend doesn’t own one, so I made do with a large fork. If I made biscuits more often using this technique, I’ll definitely have toned arms!

But, I’ll probably jiggle everywhere else…

Add the vinegary milk in tiny increments. You will likely not use all of it, so pouring it in all at once may cause your dough to be way too sticky.

This being my first time making these biscuits, I didn’t watch my liquid carefully enough. My dough is a little wetter than it should be. I think it should be a lot crumblier, so that when you knead the dough, it comes together as it should.

I wrapped it up in plastic wrap as well as I could. It was sticking to everything, unfortunately. Hopefully, after chilling in the freezer/refrigerator (I kind of did the refrigerator for about 20 minutes and then the freezer for 20 minutes because I’m so impatient) the dough would be easier to work with!

After the dough is chilled enough, roll it out onto a floured surface and fold into thirds. I know you can hardly tell due to the lighting, but imagine you’re folding a business letter. Do this twice. Even if your dough still sticks to the plastic. Even if it sticks to your hands too. You can suck it up.

Chill the dough again for another 30 minutes. Then it’s ready to be rolled out and cut into perfect little squares. Place onto a lined baking sheet.

After baking, you get these golden nuggets of all good things in the world.

I was terrified that they would not puff up during baking since they looked so thin when I cut them with my pizza cutter. But they ended up baking beautifully.

Enjoy these biscuits warm or the next day after a zap in the toaster oven or a microwave. My boyfriend likes to pry them apart to make biscuit breakfast sandwiches with eggs, green onions, and American cheese. His variation is very decadent, so I found two mini biscuit sandwiches to be more then enough for me.

Biscuits are great way to finish up a stressful week that has been full of ups and downs. These biscuits are beautiful and they are sure to bring a smile to every person who tastes them.

And with that, here is me channeling my inner Top Chef

“Cream Cheese and Chive Biscuits” from Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons salt
  • 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped fresh chives
  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, cold, cut into small pieces
  • 4 ounces cream cheese, cold, cut into small pieces
  • 1 1/4 cup buttermilk

Bake at 425 degrees for about 17 minutes.

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl living in Durham, North Carolina. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

2 Responses to Cream Cheese and Chive Biscuits

  1. bergleben says:

    wow. that looks delicious. Definitely like to try that next time…

  2. http://www.datterino.com

    Do you know this kind of tomato?

    Nice blog. Cheers

Leave a Reply

