Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Loaf

Last spring break, I got to visit New York City with family. I wish at the time that I had been a food blogger then, because now I know that bloggers really have the best recommendations as to where to go eat. I relied on Yelp!, which gave me some pretty good options, but I neglected so many landmark bakeries, restaurants, and cafés that I pretty much smack myself every time I think or hear about places like Butter, Per Se, or Magnolia Bakery. I know, right, these places are like really famous and critically acclaimed, so I must be an uncouth cave-dweller, right? I just didn’t know about them when I was a sophomore in college. All I had in my mind was to hit as many art museums as possible while in the Big Apple. Now that food blogging had introduced me to this world, you can bet that I won’t be letting good eats slip by me like that.

Speaking of good eats, this quickbread recipe is from New York’s Baked. It’s in their first cookbook, Baked: New Frontiers in Baking. Now, I don’t know if they’re necessarily dessert frontiersmen as they so claim, but this pumpkin chocolate chip loaf was very very yummy. It was a perfect way for me to redeem myself for my failure to even know of Baked’s existence when I was in New York. Moist and spicy with the luxurious sweetness of chocolate and the subtle richness of pumpkin, this pumpkin chocolate chip loaf is enjoyable at all times of the day.

Start with your dry ingredients in a bowl. That’s your flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, ginger, baking soda, and salt. Recipe is at the end of the post.

Open a can of pumpkin purée and get that into another bowl. Oh, and I didn’t get to tell you something great about this recipe. No stand mixer required! Put that away. Add some oil to the pumpkin.

Add sugar to the pumpkin purée. Just a little. No big deal.

Add your eggs one at a time. And then vanilla too.

Here is where it gets a little funky. Baked tells you to add a 2/3 cup of lukewarm water and then add chocolate chips. I’m not sure why water is necessary, because it ends up looking like a pumpkin lake with floating chocolate chip islands, but I went with it…

Fold the dry ingredients in with the pumpkin soup.

Put the mixture into a pan that has been buttered and floured. Next time though, I will use parchment paper just because I was worried that it wouldn’t come out in one piece. It did, but not without significant nudging and persuasive oratory maneuvering.

After baking, I believed. I believed in the unnecessary lukewarm water. I believed in the butter/flouring pan method. It was a glorious conversion. The kitchen smelled wonderful. Pumpkin and chocolate is a perfect combination.

The boyfriend tried to nibble at the chocolate chips that studded the surface of the loaf. The key word is tried.

The only way to enjoy this loaf is to enjoy it honestly. In thick, generous slices with a glass of cold milk.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Loaf from Baked

  • 3 1/4 cups of flour
  • 2 teaspoons of cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon of allspice
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger
  • 2 teaspoons of baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons of salt
  • 1 3/4 cup or 1 15-ounce can of pumpkin purée
  • 1 cup of vegetable oil
  • 3 cups of sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips (I’d recommend using 2 cups. More chocolate, more fun.)

Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for and hour and 15 minutes to an hour and 30 minutes. I waited the entire length of time, but next time, I would take it out after an hour because I got a burnt edge or two. Cool for 15 minutes before inverting the pan. The loaf will keep for three days at room temperature, longer if refrigerated. I prefer to eat my baked goods the next day, slightly chilled. I don’t know if I’m the only crazy person that prefers leftover dessert, but somehow, the flavor has developed for me or something.*crickets chirping* Okay, then!

With that, happy baking!

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl living in Durham, North Carolina. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

2 Responses to Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Loaf

  1. huffygirl says:

    I made this today. Turned out yummy. The recipe does not make clear what pan size to use, so I used two full sized loaf pans, baked it for about 1 hour 24 minutes and it turned out moist, not burned, and not over done. Great recipe, thanks.

Leave a Reply

