Golden Cupcakes with Lemon Frosting

Sometimes we just need a reliable cupcake recipe. One that just works, without fussing and worrying. I’m thinking that this recipe from Crazy about Cupcakes just might be the go-to cupcake recipe for me. She calls them golden cupcakes, but taste just like good, traditional yellow cake cupcakes. They are deserving of their elevated name though, because they just puff up so nicely and uniformly and are a breeze to make. These cupcakes taste a bit like lemonade and birthday cake, totally inappropriate considering this season of spicy, festive flavors. But sometimes you just want a private little celebration in the kitchen, without involving Santa and the Christmas sprinkles. And that’s okay!

In her recipe, Castella says that you need to separate the eggs first, incorporating the yolks into the creamed combo of butter and sugar. Then, you beat the egg whites until they are stiff and peaky. Once the batter has all the dry ingredients mixed in (flour, baking powder, and salt), you fold in the beaten egg whites. I did not do this. It was partially because I messed up and separated the egg and accidentally put the egg white into the mixer and the yolk into another bowl. But I think at the end of the day, I’m really just lazy. The cupcakes still made it into the liners and turned out beautiful.

Golden indeed. What did I tell you? That I messed up? I think they turned out quite well, thankyouverymuch.

And then I frosted. (Using a plastic bottle, remember?)

And all was well.

Golden Cupcakes from Krystina Castella’s Crazy About Cupcakes

  • 2 sticks (1/2 pound) of unsalted butter
  • 2 cups of granulated sugar
  • 4 large eggs, separated
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
  • 3 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 4 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 cup of milk

Here are her instructions, barely paraphrased: Cream butter and sugar until fluffy. Add yolks, beat well. Add the vanilla, mix. Separately, combine dry ingredients. Add dry ingredients to butter, sugar, and vanilla mixture, alternating with milk. Beat egg whites until stiff peaks form. Fold egg whites into the batter. After filling the liners 3/4 full, bake the cupcakes for 20-25 minutes at 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Her recipe makes 24 cupcakes, so I halved it and made a dozen without any problems.

Lemon Icing from Krystina Castella’s Crazy About Cupcakes (with my comments)

  • 4 cups of confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 stick (1/4 pound) of unsalted butter
  • 3 tablespoons of lemon zest (I did not use lemon zest, because I had no lemons)
  • 1/2 cup of lemon juice (I used about a teaspoon and a half of lemon extract, which is made of lemon oil and several teaspoons of water until it reached my desired consistency)
  • Optional food coloring
About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl living in Durham, North Carolina. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

One Response to Golden Cupcakes with Lemon Frosting

  1. Babygirl says:

    The frosting looks amazing and so does the cupcakes.. very nice

Leave a Reply

