How to Decorate Cupcakes Using a Plastic Bottle

The final look of a cupcake is just as important as the taste. This much is obvious. Why else would Cupcake Wars have an entire round dedicated to presentation? (And yes, Cupcake Wars is law.) I’ve bought many a star tip to achieve that beautiful swirled look, and unfortunately, I am not all that adept at wielding an offset spatula. But I’ve always liked that puffy, bulbous, St. Basil’s Cathedral at Russia-type frosting too. One day, I had an epiphany. I could decorate cupcakes with a plastic bottle. And it would look amazing.

Start out with one of these. I know those aluminum reusable bottles are all the rage right now, but those will not give you the ability to decorate cupcakes. Save the world, yes, possibly.

Get your hands on one of these. A box cutter will do the trick. Of course, be careful and you will end up with the same number of fingers with which you started.

Using the knife, cut around the upper part of the bottle. You really only need the opening and an inch of the connecting plastic.

You’ll end up with these two pieces.

Get one of those sturdy, freezable Ziploc bags, the kind that you can use in lieu of pastry bags and cut a little hole in the corner. I would say make it about half an inch wide, but definitely no more than 3/4 of an inch wide. Stuff the plastic bottle tip into the hole. It’s… basically like putting in a coupler.

Fill the bag with desired frosting. The great thing about using the bottle opening is that you can use the bottle cap while you’re filling the bag. I always get leakage on the other end when I’m filling a bag of frosting.

It’s go time!

Is this adorable or what?

And then you can do this too. Super cute. I swear the other cupcakes turned out less lopsided!

Like this one. 🙂

Pretty pretty pretty. And easy easy easy. I can do it and you can too! After you’re done, you can just toss everything. No need to rinse out those tips with pesky pipecleaners or whatever.

The cupcakes and frosting I used to demo this tutorial are from Crazy About Cupcakes. It’s a yellow cake cupcake (she calls it a “golden” cupcake) with lemon frosting that has been tinted with a little green food coloring. What can I say? It’s not even Christmas and I’m already thinking about spring. A post about the cupcakes themselves to come soon!

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl living in Durham, North Carolina. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

3 Responses to How to Decorate Cupcakes Using a Plastic Bottle

  1. Babygirl says:

    Very interesting.. Nice post

  2. Darlene says:

    Brilliant – Now I have a craving for vanilla butter cream cupcake.

  3. Pingback: Golden Cupcakes with Lemon Frosting « Krafted by Kelly

Leave a Reply

