Taipei’s Din Tai Fung (鼎泰豐)

Taipei. It’s a city that ought to be on everyone’s bucket list. The food here is absolutely fantastic. Being Chinese-American, with family in Taipei, I have strong connections to this city. Thus, I’ve been here several times, each trip strengthening my appreciation for local cuisine. One of Taipei’s star restaurants, Din Tai Fung (鼎泰豐) is always a priority whenever I’m in town. Din Tai Fung specializes in steamed dumplings. These dumplings are delicate, tasteful masterpieces that exude the subtle, balanced flavors I have come to expect from fine dining. It is no wonder that the restaurant’s branch in Hong Kong was recently awarded a Michelin star.

Here are some photos from my wonderful meal.

Soup dumplings. I think my father told me that each dumpling is required to have a certain number of folds in order to make it to the table. I’m not sure if this is true, but it does contribute to the legendary aura that surrounds this place!

Pan-fried dumplings, commonly referred to by their Japanese name, gyoza.

We also had some fried pork dishes and a vegetable side dish. Tasty, but not extraordinary. It’s all about the dumplings, I’m telling you. 🙂

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl living in Durham, North Carolina. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

Leave a Reply

