Cupcake Camp Los Angeles 2010

Prior to this year, I had never heard of Cupcake Camp. After attending the one in my city, I am so happy that I went! Finally a camp that I can get excited about! Though it felt chaotic at times and the parking fee was an atrocious $20/car (thanks, Los Angeles) my boyfriend and I had a great time shopping around for cupcakes and seeing all the yummy creations everyone brought! Some of the cupcakes were absolute stand-outs, so if you get the chance to check them out in LA, please do so!

The weather that day was pretty dreary, but that definitely did not stop cupcake-crazed Angelenos. Love it!

The overenthusiastic camper! No archery or woodcarving for me, just gimme those cupcakes!

This is an awful picture, I know, but it’s the best one I have of what the inside of the Music Box looked like all decked out. It was very crowded, everyone was squishing everyone else. Cozy times.

And then there were cupcakes.

Lots and lots of cupcakes.

Thank the heavens. Thank Candace Nelson. My boyfriend and I ended up with quite the haul. We have an Appletini cupcake, a vanilla cupcake with vanilla buttercream frosting, a peanut butter chocolate cupcake, and a blackberry chocolate cupcake. Not pictured are a mini red velvet cupcake and a lemon cupcake with coconut frosting.

A s’mores cupcake, a root beer float cupcake, a vanilla cupcake with lavender and orange zest frosting (I think, I can’t remember exactly), and a chocolate cupcake with crushed Oreo cookies and gummy worms. In the background, you can sort of see the Chocoholic cupcake. Absolutely divine.

Stephen and I especially loved the mini vanilla cupcakes from Sugar Babies Cupcakery, a Hollywood-based food truck. I believe the gorgeous girls who run the truck called it a Breakfast at Tiffany’s cupcake. How can you NOT love that?! They also gave out little coupons for cupcakes at their truck and were very sweet in general.

These people definitely wowed everyone with their fantastic Appletini cupcake. It looked incredible! The touches with the paper parasol and the plastic cups stood out. Very creative!

The Chocoholic Cupcakes from Rockin’ Rolling Pin were also fantastic. Stephen and I found that each of us eating half was NOT enough. I think I ought to remind myself again.

Yes. Perfect way to end this post.

Thank you BakeSpace for throwing such a fun event and thanks to all the bakers and bakeries that donated their time and their cupcakes! I had so much fun and I can’t wait to go again next year! Those bakers that I highlighted above, I hope to see more of you and your cupcakes in the near future. Yum!

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl living in Durham, North Carolina. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

Leave a Reply

