Orange Zest Gingerbread

There’s something so heart-warming, comforting, and festive about an abundant plate of spicy gingerbread cookies. Though I enjoy them year-round in non-seasonal shapes, holiday gingerbread comes out of the oven with an extra zing and a special excitement. This recipe is a little different, a little more daring. But as the year draws to a close and the balmy Southern California weather has finally decided to cool down, I find myself welcoming the little changes.

This recipe is from Allrecipes.com and it is as much a winner in my kitchen as it is on the website! Per other reviewers’ recommendations, I replaced corn syrup with the same amount of molasses. It is reproduced below with that modification and my substitution of brown sugar for the white sugar.

Orange Zest Gingerbread

  • 1 cup of butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups of brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons orange zest
  • 2 tablespoons of molasses
  • 3 cups of flour
  • 2 teaspoons of baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons of ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon of ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt

After rolling the cookies out with cute cutters, bake at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for about 20-25 minutes.

I love these leaf cutters! I’m sure they’d also look great for pie crusts!

Gingerbread is just so special already! The orange zest just makes my festive spirit soar. 🙂

Did you know that I love gingerbread? I also love sprinkles. These are kind of perfect. 🙂

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl living in Durham, North Carolina. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

One Response to Orange Zest Gingerbread

  1. LimeCake says:

    Orange zest sounds like a wonderful addition to warm and spicy gingerbread!

Leave a Reply

