“Spicy” Cheese Biscuits

This is going to be a simple little post. About one thing. Spicy cheese biscuits from Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook. Thus far, this will be my second attempt at making biscuits. My last attempt was a baking soda-tasting, yuck!-inducing disaster. These are so so so delicious. My boyfriend, who currently has Popeye’s biscuits on some crazy high biscuit throne, approves of these. Especially when sandwiching some eggs and American cheese. And bacon.

Be wary though, because these biscuits call for two things that you may not have: manchego cheese and smoked paprika. And manchego cheese is not cheap. At the Ralph’s by UCLA, a teeny wedge slightly larger than my palm was $8.00. But, I did make about 8 large biscuits or so, using only about half the cheese. The cheese has quite a distinctive flavor, so I think the splurge is justified. And I probably shouldn’t be making biscuits all that often…

My favorite thing about the recipe is how Martha asks that each biscuit be scooped from a 1/2 cup scoop. I don’t know if I’m just super-used to making cookies with tablespoon-sized scoops, but I loved how obnoxiously large these looked before baking.

I love the color the paprika gives to these biscuits! Speaking of paprika, my boyfriend and I did not find these biscuits spicy at all. I’m not sure if Martha just cannot take heat or something, but seriously, these carried more of a smoky flavor rather than a burning, tongue-numbing sensation. I’d love to figure out a way to incorporate jalapeños into this biscuit!

After baking, these were just picture perfect.

“Spicy” Cheese Biscuits from Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons sugar
3/4 teaspoon sweet smoked paprika
6 tablespoons cold butter, cut in pieces
1 cup of finely grated manchego cheese
1 1/2 cups heavy cream

Bake at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for 15-20 minutes. I baked mine for 18 minutes. Get all the dry ingredients together first and mix it all up so everything is blended together. Using a large fork, cut the butter into the flour mixture until the flour looks like coarse meal. Integrate the cheese. Pour in a little of the heavy cream as you mix until the dough comes together and is slightly sticky. Using a half-cup cup, distribute the dough onto baking sheets. Bake and enjoy.

 

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl living in Durham, North Carolina. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

2 Responses to “Spicy” Cheese Biscuits

  1. I enjoy your photos. And smoked paprika. Thanks. Are you not able to share the recipe for copyright reasons? I would be interested.

    • Thanks for the comment and for noticing! I usually post the recipe in the post or link to where it’s available. Editing the post now…

      I do hope you make them! They are very yummy.

Leave a Reply

