Cream Cheese Lemon Bows

This was one of those baking experiences that did not go entirely smoothly. The cookies turned out quite nice-looking and delicious, but I am not sure if it was my attempt to hurry through the recipe (never a good idea, but I had schoolwork and I really wanted to bake something) or if I didn’t have enough lemon juice to thin out the cookie dough sufficiently. At the end of the day though, they are light, not overly sweet, dense with a nice crumbly texture, and still look like bows. My boyfriend really liked them, as did the people at work with whom I shared the cookies. The recipe is from Martha Stewart’s Cookies.

If you don’t have her book, the recipe is available online here.

Start by putting the butter, cream cheese, and sugar into the mixer. All things should be room temperature. I probably could have waited a tad longer for my ingredients to do that, but I was in a hurry. 😦

Get the dry ingredients mixed together.

This is the butter, sugar, and cream cheese mixture. I bet this mixture would be a fantastic moisturizer. I may bottle this and make millions someday…

This is a lemon.

It needs to be zested and juiced and put with the butter, cream cheese, and sugar mixture. I didn’t bother measuring how much lemon juice or zest ended up in the bowl. This is about one medium sized lemon’s worth of zest and juice.

Incorporate the dry ingredients. Sorry about the nasty yellow color, I think my camera couldn’t deal with the lemonyness.

Here, Martha says to pipe the cookies using a large French tip. I had a ribbed tip, but I guess it was too small because the cookie dough was not willing to come out of the hole and subsequently burst my plastic bags. These were piped using parchment triangles, which worked well, except that I am terrible at making parchment triangles. I later just put the dough into yet another plastic bag and cut a hole out, which worked until the last batch of cookies needed to be piped and the plastic bag burst again. Oh cookies, you aggravate me so.

Piping issues aside, this is what comes out after baking. Beautiful and puffy right? I guess I just can’t aspire to slender, gentlewomanly bows of Martha Stewart’s oeuvre.

Next time, I will probably just make these as drop cookies. The dough is very very hard to pipe.

Serve with powdered sugar, of course! There were three other cookies on this plate. I had arranged them to take a picture but I forgot until there was only one left. Oops.

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl living in Durham, North Carolina. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

Leave a Reply

