Orange-Cardamom Madeleines

Having not baked for a while, I decided I wanted to try something more out of the ordinary… not drop cookies, not cupcakes. My boyfriend bought me a madeleine tin a few weeks ago, when he was setting up his school apartment with some nifty cooking implements. I haven’t had the chance to use it yet, and after finding Martha Stewart’s recipe online, I thought it was time. This recipe is super easy and does not require a stand mixer. Yay for fewer things to wash! 🙂

You can find her recipe here.

Let me just articulate to you right now that you really honestly will want to double the quantities on her website. When they were done baking and I glazed them, I couldn’t stop eating them immediately had three. I also was overenthusiastic about filling the tins, and only achieved half the yield I was supposed to. So, within 10 minutes, I had eaten a fourth of the batch. Scary thought!

For starters, you will need a madeleine tin. You can get one for like, $12 on Amazon including shipping. I am very much against one-use cooking implements, but this will be my exception. You will definitely not be seeing me buy asparagus steamers or whatever from Crate and Barrel. I greased this pan with some butter.

Martha Stewart says to use “good quality honey” for this recipe. Any honey that comes out of a bottle in the shape of a bear will have to do. I find the bottle so cute, I can’t buy a non-bear-shaped bottle of honey. 😦 It’s a problem.

Mix the honey and the vanilla extract with some melted butter.

Do you have some cardamom? I didn’t and I didn’t know what it was either. This spice was super expensive at Ralph’s (something like $14 or so) but it’s worth it.

Get all your dry ingredients together. Mmm… cardamom smells so good…

Mix together sugar and eggs…

… and integrate with your dry ingredients. Then add the honey, vanilla, butter mixture. Fold everything in gently and don’t overmix.

Distribute the batter into your tin. As you can see, I was overenthusiastic.

While they are baking, make the glaze. I zested a medium-sized orange.

Added plenty of powdered sugar…

And squeezed out the juice from one of the orange halves. I didn’t bother measuring how many teaspoons, but you will be able to tell when the glaze is ready.

Delicious and citrusy! I love the texture of the zest adds.

The madeleines are ready! And they rose beautifully.

Dramatic madeleine mounds.

Glaze the madeleines once they have cooled.

And enjoy. 🙂

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl living in Durham, North Carolina. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

Leave a Reply

