College Eats

I thought that it might be interesting for me to document what kind of food my boyfriend and I have been cooking and eating now that we’re back in school and no longer have frequent access to restaurants (takes too much time to dine and is very expensive in LA) and home-cooked meals (mostly for me, his parents don’t cook).  

Chocolate chip pancakes with some maple syrup. Made one Sunday before I had to go to work for 9 hours. Believe me, this was an amazing start to my day.

Grilled cheese sandwich! Surprisingly, this was the first time making grilled cheese for both of us. Turned out really good despite the fact that we had to use unsalted butter and the cheddar we had on hand. You know you’re a real baker when all you consistently buy is unsalted butter, ha.

This picture absolutely does not do my boyfriend’s guacamole justice. I know it looks a little but like a frothy Frankenstein puddle right now, but his guacamole is heavenly. We make it all the time and I never get tired of it. I think he bases his recipe off of Alton Brown’s.

We don’t make this frequently and we don’t because we shouldn’t. This is the gooiest, most flavorful spinach and artichoke cheese dip. We add shallots and garlic and it is SO good.

We were inspired by Chef Chloe Coscarelli from Cupcake Wars’ Avocado Pesto Pasta. The avocado didn’t add much to the flavor in all honesty, but it did result in a creamier, more indulgent pasta without using cream or butter, which I guess is a plus. Another thing to consider is that we didn’t make the pesto from scratch, so the store-bought stuff might have been a lot more overpowering than normal.

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl living in Durham, North Carolina. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

Leave a Reply

