Cream Cheese Swirl Blondies

Don’t let the name blondies fool you into thinking that this sweet bar cookie is the vanilla, less legitimate version of the double-triple-quadruple chocolate brownie spectaculars that are rich, 100% guilty pillows of chocolate for your teeth. Because they are really really good. And pillow-like. Even the loaf looks like a puffy little pillow right? By the way, I have never referred to brownies as a loaf. But these are. A loaf of blondies. Intense!

Cream Cheese Swirl Blondies from Martha Stewart’s Cookies

  • 11 tablespoons (1 stick plus 3 tablespoons) of unsalted butter
  • 1 2/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons of all purpose flour (The extra 2 tablespoons go into the cream cheese swirl and in retrospect I forgot to put this in… the blondies are still delicious!)
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon of coarse salt
  • 1 cup of packed light brown sugar (I used dark because that was all I had…)
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract
  • 6 ounces of cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup of granulated sugar

Bake at 325 degrees Fahrenheit for 44-47 minutes. I did 45 minutes and they turned out beautifully. I guess my boyfriend’s oven is more on point than mine at home.

While getting the dry ingredients together in a mixing bowl, lay out the butter, eggs, and cream cheese so that they have time to warm up to room temperature.

But in the bowl that actually hooks up to your stand mixer (or in another bowl if you are going handheld or no machinery at all) integrate the brown sugar with the butter.

It’s going to come out like this. I wonder if I can make brown sugar butter this way? Will have to look further into that…

Add your eggs. I love this picture, I don’t know why…

Add your dry ingredients (in batches of course, to prevent a mushroom cloud of flour mess all over the kitchen) and mix.

Get a clean bowl out. If you have only one for your mixer, you will have to do some washing. I did, but fortunately, the blondie dough was not too sticky. This clean bowl is for the cream cheese swirl part. Ah, clean stainless steel. What a sight.

Sugar, butter, and cream cheese. Makes everything impossible to taste bad.

Now get about 1/2 to 3/4 of the blondie dough into a pan. I’m just using my boyfriend’s set of Pyrex glass storage containers. Oh, and this is my new offset spatula! I’m so excited to have one. I think it’s changing my life.

After layering on the cream cheese layer, add the rest of the blondie dough. (Martha illustrated a very specific technique for putting the cream cheese on the dough layer, I think she does it in dollops, but honestly, I was a little confused and hungry, so I kind of just skimmed…)

I did a little more spreading… and maybe a little swirling too…

Okay, I dolloped.

Looking good! This is a frothy ocean of blondie dough and cream cheese swirl. I’d like to swim in that ocean.

Looks like every bite will have some cream cheese swirl. This is very important to me.

After 45 minutes in the tanning bed, this is what comes out. I had no idea these would rise so beautifully. All the previous reviews I had read online had these blondies still looking bar-like… as opposed to loaf-like. But I’m not complaining!

Yeah, no complaints here.

Yup, none.

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl that just relocated to Oxford, England after graduating from college. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

