Oatmeal Raisin Cookies: Classic and easy!

My mom and my grandmother’s favorite cookie, by far, is the Raisin Oatmeal cookie. Chewy from the oats, spicy and sensuous from the cinnamon, and sweet, but only in that natural, “I’m eating fruit,” way from the raisins, oatmeal raisin cookies are delicious only when all the components come together in a balanced fashion. For this cookie adventure, I used a “tried and true” recipe from Allrecipes.com. In spite of some negative reviews (people claimed the cookies got very thin and the raisins burned, or that the cookies hardened into inedible disks), I found that these cookies came out practically picture perfect. I did make minor modifications, but none of the original recipe’s proportions need to be altered.

Needless to say, these cookies were a hit and I will certainly make them again!

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I from Allrecipes.com

  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup white sugar (I used about 1/2 of a cup, per the recommendation of a reviewer on Allrecipes.com. The cookies came out just right.)
  • 3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I also added a few dashes of nutmeg. It does contribute to a more complex spicy flavor in the final product… if you have some lying around, why not?)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 3/4 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup raisins (Next time, I may add 1 1/2 cups of raisins, because I think I like A LOT of raisins in my oatmeal raisin cookies.)

Bake at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for 8-10 minutes. I put in 11 minutes because my oven tends to need more time.

As usual, start by getting your ingredients to room temperature. Soak the raisins in hot water to get them juicy and ready for their new lives in cookies.

Cream the two sugars with the room temperature butter. Then add your eggs. In a separate bowl, mix the dry ingredients together. But leave out the oats for now.

Incorporate the dry in ingredients with the wet in batches.

Add your oats after all the dry ingredients are incorporated.

Add your raisins and fold them in. For the raisin lovers, you see how more raisins might be necessary? Either way, these cookies are look delicious right now!

Allocate the dough onto greased cookie sheets. My mother recently got me this amazing set of baking sheets from Nordicware. They are really heavy, but they work so well. Get them in your preheated oven, and bake for 8-11 minutes. That’s at 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

Can I say WOW? They each puffed up perfectly.

Look at the surface texture! Such an endless display of delicious, oaty terrain.

Okay, I’m crazy. But these cookies can do that to a person. (By the way, as a child to when I was a teenager, I detested raisin oatmeal cookies. I think these have made me a believer.)

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl living in Durham, North Carolina. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

Leave a Reply

