Chocolate Whoopie Pies

Ever I since I read Bakerella’s article on whoopie pies (and lost out on her giveaway, boo) I’ve been dying to try and make some myself. I didn’t know I was basically making monster soft cookie sandwiches, because my whoopie pies were like, 4-5 inches in diameter.

But wow! They were yummy! And very very indulgent. Moist and soft, with gooeyness and creaminess highlighting every sinking bite, I could really only finish half of one and live with myself. So before giving them away to my co-workers–one of them immediately called them moon pies upon eating one, which I think is a more accurate term–I cut all my moon pies in half.

I used the whoopie pie recipe from Cooks.com but I decided to use a buttercream frosting recipe from Allrecipes.com for the filling instead of the filling that calls for egg whites. (And I had leftover egg yolks from making royal icing for my sugar cookies and I didn’t want to waste eggs.) I’ve reproduced both here with my comments.

Whoopie Pie Cake:

  • 1/2 cup of shortening (I know getting shortening is kind of inconvenient and it’s not “real” like butter, but I would get some just to have in the pantry. It’s inexpensive at the grocery store and I’m quite wary of modifying recipes.)
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 2 egg yolks (My egg yolks were about 3ish days old in the refrigerator and they worked fine, just in case you have some lying around too.)
  • 2 cups of flour
  • 5 tablespoons of cocoa powder (I would personally add an extra teaspoon because the color and chocolate taste could be a little stronger for my taste.)
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Buttercream Frosting (Filling):

  • 1 cup of butter
  • 1 cup of white sugar
  • 4 tablespoons of all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Let’s begin! Cream the shortening and the sugar. The good thing about shortening is that you don’t have to wait for it to hit room temperature. I’d recommend getting your egg/yolks out now so they’re not frigid by the time you need to use them.

Mix in the flour, baking soda, and milk. And add the eggs/yolks. It will look a little lumpy and gelatinous, but that’s okay. Make sure to get out the flour lumps.

Maybe this is embarrassing to admit, but this is my first time working with cocoa powder. I usually use melted chocolate to get that chocolate flavor in my baked goods. It looks so pretty! I never knew cocoa powder looked so smooth and dense! And it such a rich, almost woodsy smell. Mmm. Now might be a good time to pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Looking good! Working with cocoa powder caused my handheld mixer to be covered with a fine coating of it. I’m not sure if any got inside, but oh well.

Drop the batter onto a greased cookie sheet. The recipe said to use a tablespoon, but next time, I may use teaspoons because my whoopie pies ended up ginormous. I’d prefer smaller ones. But if you like monster whoopie, use a ladle even! I love when I get a nice grid going on my cookie sheet. Pop these into your heated oven and bake for about 10-11 minutes. I know the recipe says 8, but for some reason, my oven consistently needs extra time.

See? HUGE right? Next time I know that I need to mix in the cocoa powder more uniformly. But I love how they came out beautifully puffy and cakey.

Now for the filling. Put the flour in a saucepan–be sure to use the scoop and sweep technique so that you’re not adding too much flour.

Add the milk and keep stirring. To get rid of the flour lumps, try stirring very quickly, so the liquid almost vibrates. You’ll see the larger flour lumps appear at the edges and you can smoosh them with the wooden spoon. Try to work out all the lumps. Keep stirring until the liquid thickens. It will take longer than you think, but its worth it! The original recipe says to wait until it becomes “a ball” but I’m not sure I know what that means. The frosting will turn out okay with very thick liquid. It’s hard to believe that the liquid will thicken, but it will.

Once the liquid looks like yogurt, get your room temperature butter and sugar ready. Mix it all together.

I threw in some rainbow confetti sprinkles for fun. I like the sensation of my teeth crunching on sprinkles especially if I’m eating something very soft and smooth. 🙂

I loaded up my pastry bag and got two cookies ready for life as a whoopie. Can you see how fluffy the filling is? Mmm…

Making whoopie pies is so much fun!

So is eating whoopie pies!

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl living in Durham, North Carolina. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

3 Responses to Chocolate Whoopie Pies

  1. Mmm, these whoopie pies look absolutely sweet! I think that kids would love these. Although adults will probably do so as well ;]

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Whoopie Pies « Krafted by Kelly

Leave a Reply

