Earthquake Checkerboards

I made cookies again! I wouldn’t call these a resounding success, but they are very crunchy and satisfying. I used another recipe from Mrs. Field’s Best Ever Cookie Book and actually followed every direction to the letter, even the part that asks for me to “knead” melted chocolate, which was messy, gooey, and unpleasant. I don’t know what I did wrong, but the chocolate dough was a lot drier than the vanilla dough and thus contributed to my cookies looking like mini-earthquakes.

After the dough-making, the chilling overnight, the log-making, the reassembling, and the cutting, here they all are in their topsy-turvy glory. I am not a very even cutter, apparently.

But I guess it didn’t matter! They look crumbly and textured and puffed up quite nicely. Can you spot the Picasso-looking checkerboard cookie? 😛

It’s too bad about the crackles, but I think it gives the checkerboards character. 🙂

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl living in Durham, North Carolina. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

2 Responses to Earthquake Checkerboards

  1. Brooke says:

    That is a good looking cookie. I remember taking chocolate earthquake cookies and rolling them in powdered sugar before baking – you could really see the cracks then. I think I want these now though. Sorry pants, you might fit very well come Sunday.

  2. Pingback: Chocolate and Vanilla Pinwheels « Krafted by Kelly

Leave a Reply

