Magnificent Marbles

These delicious cookies were adapted from my friend’s Mrs. Field’s Best Ever Cookie Book. She had recommended them highly to me and insisted that I follow the recipe exactly as printed. The problem was that the recipe called for 1/2 cup of sour cream. And I didn’t have any.

So here’s how to make the cookies without pesky sour cream.

  • 2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 cup of brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 1 stick of salted butter, softened
  • 1 large egg
  • About 1/4 to 1/2 cup of milk (I used skim milk) << This is the alternative to sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 cup of chocolate chips

Mix together your dry ingredients. Shiny stainless steel is so photogenic! I like to work out the lumps of brown sugar now, because it’s hard to do that when everything is heavy and moist.

Wet ingredients (egg, butter, milk, and vanilla) are next. Technically, you’re supposed to mix all the wet stuff together in a separate bowl, but I’m all about washing one less bowl. Nothing bad happened because I did this. I promise.

The cookie dough should be thick and sticky. Now to melt some chocolate!

I don’t know if and when I will figure out the double broiler method of melting chocolate, but I am a big fan of the microwave. Put the chocolate chips in a good sized bowl and melt at 22 second intervals, stirring a bit each time. You will arrive at this. Let it cool for a minute or two.

Gently fold into the cookie dough. I folded a bit too much, but the main idea is that you don’t want uniformly brown cookies. Looking really good and delicious right now.

Scoop out the dough and arrange in a neat array on greased cookie sheets.

Now bake for 20-23 minutes at 300 degrees Fahrenheit.

Just amazing. They look ready to be devoured!

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl living in Durham, North Carolina. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

2 Responses to Magnificent Marbles

  1. Oh my goodness. These cookies look SO absolutely delicious. YUM! YUM! YUM!
    I am visiting via your comment at Pioneer Woman today : )
    I hope you get the lens!

Leave a Reply

