Chocolate Chip and Walnut Meringue Cookies

When I bake, I prefer to have the entire process, from the first measuring cup I fill to the last countertop I wipe, contained within an afternoon. On some occasions, such as when I make pie, the afternoon inevitably extends into the evening, but rarely have I ever made something that required an overnight stay in the oven. These chocolate chip and walnut meringue cookies, or “forgotten kisses” according to Emeril Lagasse, had a toasty sleepover in my oven after their initial 2 hour baking time.

These meringue cookies are winter white, but texturally, they are crisp like fall leaves. In full embrace of the chillier months ahead, but still holding onto memories of summer, these delicate, simple, and handheld treats are the perfect transition confection.

Image

Preheat the oven at 350 degrees Fahrenheit and chop some walnuts. I tried to make sure the pieces were as close as possible to the size of the chocolate chips I planned to use. Using good chocolate and fresh nuts is even more crucial in this recipe due to the absence of a butter-rich dough.

Image

You’ll need some egg whites…

Image

… and cream of tartar. But don’t add it until the egg whites are foamy.

Image

Start mixing in the stand mixer. Making meringue-anything can be quite stressful because you’re never quite sure if you’re there yet.

Image

When it looks “foamy,” add the cream of tartar.Image

Keep mixing at a high speed. Looking pretty and glossy now… so add sugar very gradually, about three tablespoons at a time.

Image

Halfway through the total quantity of sugar for the recipe, add vanilla. Then go back to adding the sugar gradually. Once all the sugar is in, let the mixer keep mixing on a high speed until the mixture is “very shiny and tight.”

Image

Then add the chocolate chips and chopped walnuts, folding them very carefully into the mixture.

Image

Spoon them onto cookie sheets, turn off the oven, and bake for 2 hours. The recipe also says you can leave them overnight, which I did.

Image

The next morning they were perfect. And very photogenic.

Image

The best part of these cookies is the cavernous, nutty-chocolatey interior.

Image

I couldn’t eat just one.

Image

I used Emeril Lagasse’s recipe from the Food Network site without any modifications.

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl that just relocated to Oxford, England after graduating from college. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

8 Responses to Chocolate Chip and Walnut Meringue Cookies

  1. cluttercafe says:

    These are gorgeous! Once the humidity clears here in New England (thank you Indian Summer) I am totally making these. They would go perfect with my evening cup of tea

    • Good call! I’m lucky that San Diego is rarely humid, but if a recipe is going to be uncooperative due to the weather, it would definitely be this one. Let me know how it goes! :)

  2. These look wonderful Kelly. I am defintely going to try making meringues this year still

  3. Linda says:

    My recently passed grandmother made these every Christmas, and I’m so glad I’ve found the recipe here. Thanks so much for posting this, it almost brings tears to my eyes being able to finally bring back a Christmas tradition!

    • Linda, thank you so much for sharing your connection to this recipe and for stopping by the blog! I hope you have a wonderful holiday season this year and enjoy the cookies.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

