Blueberry Scones

What do I miss when I’m away from home? Lately, this question hasn’t been so easy to answer. At first when I was adjusting to life in England, year-round avocados, reliably fantastic Chinese or Japanese food, and unsweetened almond milk might have been my immediate answers. But since then, I’ve temporarily relocated to Beijing. From here, there are plenty of things I now see that I intensely miss about England, which I didn’t realize had become my home away from home. I’m thinking of Cornish clotted cream with the right amount of dense, textural inertia, fish ‘n’ chips with barely-there batter and zingy tartar sauce, and finally, the warm, rustic light inside my favorite pub in Oxford, a cozy glow that belonging to the color spectrums of worn wood and cracked leather.

In contrast to the whole pub culture though, is the afternoon tea ritual. I have previously written about afternoon tea on KbK and my followers on Instagram know that I love it and love it often. But what to do when I’m at home, but away from my home away from home? Make scones. Even if you don’t follow my logic, I don’t know anyone that can’t follow scones, and these blueberry ones are the kind that help life make sense even when it doesn’t really at all.

Image

Start off with white flour. Have your handy pastry cutter waiting in the wings.

Image

Drop in cubed, cold butter. “Cut” the pastry butter into the flour, until the largest pieces are no larger than a pea. (If you need help with this technique, I’d recommend checking out Smitten Kitchen’s tutorial.)

Image

Wash your blueberries and let them air dry a bit, or pat them dry with a towel.

Image

 

Incorporate them into the flour-butter mixture.

Image

Get two eggs, mix. Then mix in the heavy cream to create a pale yellow concoction of amazing.

Image

 

Gently fold in the eggs until you have a moist, crumby, slightly sticky mixture.

Image

 

Shape the scones into two rectangular tablets and cut into triangles.

Image

 

Arrange them on a baking sheet, generously sprinkle raw sugar on every scone, and bake.

Image

When they come out of the oven, the blueberry explosions within the scones create these gooey cascades of blueberry juice.

Image

Delicious. Enjoy with clotted cream if you have it, lemon curd, honey, or just butter and whatever jam you have in your fridge.

Image

 

Recipe is from Martha Stewart. I made no revisions.

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl that just relocated to Oxford, England after graduating from college. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

2 Responses to Blueberry Scones

  1. Ste says:

    I am salivating.

  2. huntfortheverybest says:

    they look delish!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

