Churrascos, Houston

Seems like ages ago when I was in Texas last. If you couldn’t tell, this KbK has been in some sort of extended hibernation as I began my graduate program in England and got settled with my new living situation.

This is the latest part of my Texas series, about 8 months delayed. Stephen took me here for my 22nd birthday, recalling positive dining experiences with his father when he still lived in Houston.Image

Both of really love steak, and having never tried Brazilian steak, I was quite excited for us to go. According to Esquire, Churrascos has one of the best steaks in America. That sets the bar pretty high. This is the half-portion steak, which I got. Stephen had the full portion.

Image

Which he washed down with 2 mojitos.

Image

The name of the restaurant refers to a method of cooking in Latin America. According to Wikipedia, a churrasqueria refers to a steakhouse.

Image

Churrascos gives these yummy plantain chips with two kinds of sauces (a sour one and an herby, pesto-like one) for your starter. Gone within minutes.

Image

We also ordered mashed potatoes with our steak, since Stephen’s such a steak and potatoes kind of guy. :)

Image

After dinner, our server gave us these little cookies. Nothing too spectacular about them, but they were a nice touch.

Image

Overall, our experience was decent. I probably wouldn’t go back because I have had better steak elsewhere for the price point. My favorite is still the decadent, buttery steaks at Ruth’s Chris, though I’d say Churrascos is better and cheaper than Mastros in Beverly Hills, which was unimpressive and had strange service.

When we went on a weeknight, there were only a few tables filled, so I wouldn’t be too pressed about getting a table.

2055 Westheimer @ Shepherd
Houston, Texas 77098

713.527.8300

https://www.cordua.com/churrascos/

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl that just relocated to Oxford, England after graduating from college. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

One Response to Churrascos, Houston

  1. awk says:

    Can you do some research on Fish&chips?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

