Buffalo Grille, Houston

I absolutely love brunch. I already love each of the “normal” meals, but brunch is extra special because it is impossible to be in a bad mood while having brunch. Usually brunch time means you got to sleep in and/or it’s the weekend. And because it’s such a filling meal, with both salty and sweet elements, you’re pretty much set for the rest of the day until dinner. I could eat brunch every day.

Now, the Buffalo Grille in Houston is not a brunch-only sort of place, but I was in my brunch mood (which was heightened by the general happiness from being on vacation) and everything that touched my mouth was awesome. It kind of reminded me of Urth Caffé in Los Angeles, only with Texas-sized portions, a general embrace of fried elements, and of course real maple syrup.

 

 

The interior has a lot of nice wood with quirky elements like this pretty metal sign. You can see the tasteful, but definitely unapologetic Texas decorations.

 

 

Stephen ordered this gigantic omelette. I have no idea how many eggs went into this, but it was probably the size of his face. He had it stuffed with yummy things like peppers, cheese, and bacon.

 

Speaking of things that are the size of faces…

Here is my blueberry pancake. Yes, singular pancake.

 

I am pretty proud of my own homemade waffles with fresh blueberries, so I was extra impressed after trying the Buffalo Grille’s blueberry pancakes. You can’t really tell from the picture, but it is stuffed with blueberries in the interior. And in the background of the picture, you can see my little cup of maple syrup. That came from a huge metal dispenser of hot syrup. I love that they don’t dillydally with little bottles of Aunt Jemima’s syrup. Definitely eat here with a “go big, or go home” kind of attitude.

And though we clearly overestimated how much food we would be able to eat, feeling stuffed after our breakfast items, we knew we couldn’t just stop in face of this beautiful fried chicken salad.

Each piece of tender chicken was breaded, fried, and seasoned to perfection. Nice crisp lettuce, mellow cheese, and fresh tomatoes altogether made for a pretty epic salad. No, we couldn’t finish. Yes, we still ate all the fried chicken pieces.

 

My boyfriend tells me that they’ve switched locations a few times, but clearly this hasn’t impacted their popularity. It was pretty busy when we went in the middle of the week at like, 10:30 in the morning.

The Buffalo Grille
Academy and Bissonnet
Houston, TX 77005

http://www.thebuffalogrille.com

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl that just relocated to Oxford, England after graduating from college. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

One Response to Buffalo Grille, Houston

  1. looks absolutely delicious!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

