Chuys, Houston

I had the best steak fajitas when I was in Houston. They were so good that when I crave steak fajitas now, I am specifically craving Chuys’ steak fajitas. Chuys, a chain that started in Austin, is another one of Stephen’s top spots. Boasting a cantina vibe, deep margaritas, funky decor, and honestly fantastic Tex-Mex cuisine, this is a place that makes the Tio Lio’s or the El Torito I know a few miles away in San Diego as interesting and tasty as stale white bread.

Their menu is very extensive. I was a little intimidated at first, but once I found out that everything tasted amazing, I knew I could basically point with my eyes closed and get something delicious.

These are their bottomless chips, salsa, and spicy ranch dip. I love that the free appetizers they give are actually good. Our servers (both times we went) were very quick to refill our chip baskets and bring out more salsa/dip if necessary. Great service.

This is the Chuys margarita. Nicely strong, but well-balanced with fresh limes and the salted rim. And of course, cold. Brain-freeze cold. Perfect after a day in the sweltering Houston summer.

I got the watermelon margarita. Refreshing and not to sweet with lovely chunks of watermelon. Wish I could have one right now!

Stephen ordered this monstrosity: Elvis Green Chile Fried Chicken, “a tender chicken breast breaded with Lay’s potato chips, deep fried and smothered in Green Chile sauce and cheddar cheese. Served with green chile rice and refried beans.”

No words.

He said it was really good, but for health reasons, it probably wouldn’t be a good idea to order it too often. I had a bite and the chicken was crunchy, tender, and well-seasoned.

As you know, I got the steak fajitas. Mmm. The steak was perfectly medium-rare, the vegetables were all nice and caramelized, and of course, all the the typical fajita components that came with the fajitas were harmonious, high quality, and satisfying.

I think I loved the beans and tortillas the best. I usually don’t like beans in Mexican cuisine, but Chuys made me like them. And the tortillas were flaky, warm, and smooth.

Each bite of my perfect fajita couldn’t get into my mouth fast enough.

I almost didn’t have the inclination to look away from my food at the ceiling, which was bad-ass.

Or the nice pictures of retro cars on the walls. :)

I love it when restaurants aren’t afraid to use color and flair.

Chuys definitely highlights these qualities in their line of custom shirts. I found this image of the Hunger Games-themed one that Stephen also bought for me (photo credit). :) Cuuute!

Chuys
2706 Westheimer at Kirby
Houston, TX 77098

http://www.chuys.com

This is part 3 of an 8 part series on dining primarily in Houston (one post will be on an Austin restaurant). Click here for part 1 (Mission Burrito), and here for part 2 (Beck’s Prime).

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl that just relocated to Oxford, England after graduating from college. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

One Response to Chuys, Houston

  1. Those steak fajitas look really nice. Yum! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

