Patina Restaurant, Los Angeles

Pricey. Pompous. Petite portions. These are all words that could be associated with Patina Restaurant, located right at the foot of the breathtaking Walt Disney Concert Hall in downtown Los Angeles. However, after a wonderful experience at Ray’s, which is one of the restaurants belonging to the Patina Restaurant Group, I was excited to try the famous LA establishment that is the namesake of the internationally renowned restaurant empire. The aforementioned adjectives can be used to critique fine dining in broad strokes, but Patina Restaurant allows you savor not only each delicious morsel of food, but also each careful pause in the warm, enthusiastic service from the waitstaff, and every word in the dinner conversation as a result of a relaxing, quiet restaurant environment.

Stephen ordered two different menu items, while I went for their “market menu,” a three-course tasting. Both of us began with this fantastic chilled asparagus soup with croutons.

 

Of course, the bread was fantastic. Stephen especially liked the olive-studded bread. I liked the sourdough the best.

 

Here is my heirloom tomato gazpacho. It reminded me a bit of the heirloom tomato salad I had at Spago. Tasty and refreshing.

Stephen went with scallops with prosciutto. Of course, cooked with perfection. I did not get to sample the scallops, but he loved them.

My main dish was some Copper River salmon cooked sous vide, with artichoke confit and potato mousse. The cooking technique of course yielded a buttery, unbelievably smooth texture. I could eat salmon all day, every day.

 

Stephen ordered the lamb. I love the presentation and the earthiness. If I remember correctly, the lamb was accompanied with some vegetables (including a porcini mushroom) and farro wheat.

My dessert was called a “White Chocolate Melon Composition” and combined the flavors of white chocolate, melon, kaffir lime, chamomile, and kecap manis (a sweet, Indonesian kind of soy sauce, according to Wikipedia).

I had also brought a birthday voucher (join the Patina mailing list and you’ll get one too) so they knew it was my birthday and gave me a little candle to celebrate with my yummy little candies.

Upon leaving, the manager gave me a little box of Patina chocolates and bid us a warm farewell. The staff at Patina do a very careful job to address you by name and remember you as a person. Though it at times could be almost overly polite, we were definitely impressed and pleased. An especially great restaurant for special celebrations, concert nights, or fine dining adventures, the reasons for Patina’s continued excellence are quite clear.

Patina Restaurant
141 South Grand Ave.
Los Angeles, CA 90012

 

 

 

 

 

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl that just relocated to Oxford, England after graduating from college. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

2 Responses to Patina Restaurant, Los Angeles

  1. lee' says:

    these just make me hungry…hhhmmmmm

  2. Pingback: Patina Restaurant, Los Angeles « Krafted by Kelly | Food News LA

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

