Oatmeal Ice Cream

Today was an unusually overcast and chilly for San Diego in mid-July and it was just as well because I have begun my preparations for my move to the United Kingdom. I will be gone for two years, so between packing winter clothes and researching bed sizes in the UK, my mom has been nagging encouraging me to use up as much of my accumulated baking supplies as possible. This means using up ingredients that are ideal for another season, like oatmeal, which I associate with apple pie, Thanksgiving, cinnamon, and maple syrup. Not wanting to just make more oatmeal raisin cookies, I opted for oatmeal ice cream, which is quintessentially summer. This cream is very subtle with a hearty texture and a refreshing lightness that cools off while alluding to the brisker months ahead of us.

The recipe is pretty straightforward, but I would recommend that you use dark, spiced rum instead of light (clear) rum like I did if you want a stronger, more pronounced flavor. I went with the clear rum because I thought the molasses flavor was also too autumn-y. The original recipe just says “rum” so I am not sure which the author used… I am guessing dark, because the color of her final result is a bit deeper.

To give you a sense of how much oatmeal I have…

 

Yeah.

Okay, proceeding… heat up with oatmeal with the whole milk.

 

Whisk together some brown sugar and three egg yolks.

 

Add some cinnamon to the oatmeal. Stir and let the oatmeal thicken.

Gradually add the heated oatmeal mixture into the brown sugar and egg yolk mixture, whisking constantly. Once it’s all incorporated, pour in the heavy cream.

 

Add two teaspoons of this.

 

And you’re done! Process in an ice cream maker for about 20 minutes and then stick it in the freezer overnight. The next day, when you’re ready to eat, you’ll see this.

 

I usually dip my scoop in some hot water before scooping the ice cream. The exertion is a bit much for my weak arms.

 

My scoops could use some work, but this ice cream is delicious!

 

 

Each bite has just a bit of oats in it, making the melt-in-your-mouth texture that I love about ice cream much more luxurious.

 

I’m going to miss you, ice cream maker, when I’m far far away… :(

To make your own oatmeal ice cream, check out this recipe.

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl that just relocated to Oxford, England after graduating from college. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

One Response to Oatmeal Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: Always Room for Ice Cream | Brooklyn Locavore

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

