Tuna Salad Pita

With a few weeks left in the quarter, it’s time to pull out the finals week meals. Meals that are easy, tasty, and can provide more nutrition than a package of spicy ramen. After walking back from class in the hot midday sun the other day though, I just wasn’t in the mood for a steamy bowl of noodles and soup. I craved something fresh, crunchy, and light, but also substantial and flavorful.
A well-composed tuna salad on a lightly toasted pita is absolutely the way to go.

Of course, start with half a red onion, diced. Stephen and I have been tempted to add a whole onion before, but I assure you that even for onion obsessors, it will be overwhelming. So overwhelming in fact, that we actually burned our tongues because of the sheer rawness. As a result, our taste buds were basically defunct for two days.

Another tuna salad staple is, of course, plenty of fresh celery.

Stephen and I bought a package of twenty fresh serrano chiles for like, $2 a few weeks ago. In our attempt to use as many of them as possible, we started incorporating them plentifully in our tuna salad recipe. Perhaps a bit unconventional, I highly recommend this addition.

Serranos are robustly spicy, though they give me more tickle and tingle than a tearjerking burn (as I get from jalapeños). If you want to be a bit more tentative, discard the seeds.

Throw everything in a nice big bowl. I love the lime green with purple/pink!

Almost done! Add canned tuna.


And finally, a good amount of mayonnaise. I know mayonnaise can gross some people out, but it’s the only way to get moist tuna salad.

Delicious on whole wheat toast with Swiss cheese or wrapped in lettuce, it’s time to enjoy! I chose to use some pita bread Stephen had lying around the kitchen.

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl that just relocated to Oxford, England after graduating from college. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

2 Responses to Tuna Salad Pita

  1. emmalilies says:

    Wow just looking at the pictures made me hungry :) I’m gonna try it this week!

  2. This looks delicious! Perfect for an easy dinner!

    New to your blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

