Banana Chocolate Chip Pound Cake

As a student with a meal plan, I end up accumulating a lot of bananas, apples, and oranges from the dining halls. This week, I had about three extra bananas. I have already made banana cupcakes but this time, I wanted something that wasn’t so tooth-achingly sweet and had a bite a bit heftier than a fluffy little cupcake. It turns out this banana chocolate chip pound cake does a great job of showcasing the moistness and natural sweetness of bananas and satisfying my personal need for more chocolate chips in my life in addition to the aforementioned stipulations.

You’re going to want to start out with some ripe bananas. This reminds me, I think one of Stephen’s encyclopedic cookbooks actually has a dedicated section about using bananas in banana bread… apparently, it’s best to use really ripe bananas. So the book recommends placing bananas in sealed plastic bags and letting them turn really speckly. Having three bananas in three different stages of being ripe this time, I did not heed this advice. By the way, green makes me happy.

And this picture (Stephen took it while I was measuring flour or something) is positively Warholian. That makes me happy too.

In the mixer, you’re going to cream butter, shortening, brown sugar, and white sugar. When it’s nice and fluffy, add mashed bananas. Then two eggs, one at a time.

In another bowl, you’ve got flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Having bought a fine mesh strainer recently, I also used it to sift my flour before I measured it. I have never sifted flour for baking purposes. It actually tuned out to be a lot easier and mess-free than I thought. Because the final product had such a delicate, even texture that I really liked, I think I will have to sift my flour more often!

Incorporate the dry ingredients with the banana mixture. Some milk and vanilla complete this luxurious pound cake batter.

Pour the batter into a loaf pan. I chose to line mine with parchment paper.

And add a good amount of chocolate chips. No skimping!

After an hour and a half of pining, yearning, and baking… you get this! If you’re wondering why mine is missing a chunk, I’m afraid to say that when I checked on the cake about halfway through it’s baking time, gravity was experiencing some technical difficulties. Upsetting, I know.

After it’s cooled sufficiently, you’ll want to slice up the pound cake, nice and thick. It’s a glorious sight, really.

Because the banana mash was left a bit chunky, the pound cake has this really interesting splotchiness that is really unique. :)

I’m a sucker for cakes that have that nice, toasty crust. This pound cake does not disappoint there either. I was thinking about adding walnuts to this recipe, but that’s stepping in banana bread territory. Let it be.

Banana Chocolate Chip Pound Cake (adapted from Swanee at Allrecipes.com)

  • 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 cup of butter
  • 1/4 cup of shortening
  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup of white sugar
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup of milk
  • Chocolate chips
Bake at 325 degrees Fahrenheit for about an hour and a half. Check for doneness using a sharp knife; if only small crumbs come out with the knife, it’s ready!
About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl that just relocated to Oxford, England after graduating from college. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

11 Responses to Banana Chocolate Chip Pound Cake

  1. WOW! That looks amazing! How could I not want to make that?

  2. it IS a glorious sight, yum!

  3. Brittany says:

    Your pictures, and recipes are absolutely amazing. I literally drool when reading these posts! YUM!

  4. That looks delicious! I love the idea of using the bananas for a pound cake instead of just the usual banana bread. Load on those chocolate chips! Yum.

  5. 20food says:

    That looks absolutely decadent! Yes, Brittany, I was drooling a little too while reading.

  6. Dakota says:

    So. I’m jealous. Now.:p

  7. I love this blog because I’m always looking for new recipes and this is so helpful… good job!

  8. Mmm mmm mmmmmm!!! This looks soooo good! Great photos!

    New to your blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

  9. annaconnelly says:

    Haha I totally know what you mean about the accumulation of fruit from the dining halls… take what you can! At my school, there are signs all over saying “please don’t take food from the halls; including fruit” but, let’s be honest, nothing is a better snack at night than a good banana or apple… this pound cake looks AMAZING – way to go!

  10. WOW What a great recipe. I Wish I Could Cook Like You.

  11. Pingback: Perfect Pound Cakes for Any Occasion | Yummly

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

