Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

So many things have been going on lately. In between Relay for Life, my sorority’s formal, and two intense midterms for classes entitled “Gothic Art” and “Contemporary Asian American Communities,” it seems the more I have on my plate, the more inclined I am to let my mind wander. Wander to things like whoopie pies and why I haven’t made them since fall quarter.

Whoopie pies are cakey, creamy, and cute. With these yummy cookies in hand, you too can ace your midterms! (Or be too jittery from all that sugar to write anything coherent…)

Whoopie pies start with great basic ingredients that any home baker is likely to have. Cocoa power, flour, salt, etc. Whisk the dry ingredients together until evenly mixed. Meanwhile, don’t forget to get your eggs to room temperature!

Cream the shortening, butter, brown sugar, and granulated sugar.

Add eggs, one at a time.

And for classic red velvet, generous splashes of red food coloring. Here’s a random and unappetizing thought: For those of you that watch True Blood, they totally use red food coloring for their bottles of V!

Red velvet whoopie pie batter: A force to be reckoned with…

If you want perfect little whoopie pies, piping the batter is obligatory.

Not quite perfect, but close enough…

As the other batches of whoopie pies bake, whip up your favorite cream cheese frosting!

And start pairing up these lost souls looking for their other half. eHarmony for lonely cookies…

But thankfully, they weren’t lonely for long.

It’s strange, usually I wax poetic (or try to, at least) about flavor, texture, and the baking experience. But honestly, these whoopie pies and this recipe stand on their own. Painless steps, simple ingredients, tasty and good-looking results!

The perfect recipe is from Brown-Eyed Baker and I would not change a thing!

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl that just relocated to Oxford, England after graduating from college. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

11 Responses to Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

  1. Hannah says:

    Gorgeous. Once I get my hands on some red food colouring I will definitely attempt these!

  2. Dana says:

    Thanks so much for this recipe! I wondered how best to get the whoopie pie shape using the batter and now I know! Will have to definitely give it a go!

  3. Suzy says:

    These look just like the little yummy red velvet whoopie pies they have at Starbucks now. I have been looking at recipes trying to find one that looks similar and this one fits the bill!

  4. I love how you incorporate the pictures with your perfect step by step directions. This is the so inspiring! Keep up the good work, I look forward to more!
    Seneca

  5. meeshiesmom says:

    Oh I’ve made whoopie pies with a medium-sized dough scoop and they are perfect. The pictures are wonderful.

  6. serenityh says:

    OMG! I gotta make these soon. So beautiful! Wonderful hon!

  7. coco200066 says:

    Oh these look so yummy…..great job!

  8. debbie :) says:

    Beautiful pictures! I like the way you see things.

  9. Pingback: Favorite First Street products helping schools | First Street

  10. Pingback: Milk and Schools Coming Together at Smart & Final (#SmartFinalSupportsSoCalSchools) « Krafted by Kelly

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

