His and Hers Hot Cocoa

There isn’t a whole lot to hot cocoa, but like many simple things in life, it can be just perfect. Los Angeles as been a bit frigid lately, so this past weekend, my boyfriend and I holed up in his apartment, donned our his and hers Snuggies, and clutched these toasty mugs of chocolate and marshmallow.

Can you guess which mug is mine? :P

The recipe is called Creamy Hot Cocoa and I found it at allrecipes.com. I did not have any half and half, so I used a bit of heavy cream instead. Next time, I will probably reduce the amount of cream, so I will feel less guilty about eating multiple jumbo marshmallows.

  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1/3 cup boiling water
  • 3 1/2 cups milk
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup half-and-half cream

I think the vanilla extract really makes this recipe stands out. Finally, make sure you stop the mixture from boiling! I got a bit cocky and left it on the stove for too long when I reheated it for a second serving. What resulted was thick, sticky, and… chunky. Yuck.

Don’t forget the marshmallows!

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl that just relocated to Oxford, England after graduating from college. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

