Chocolate and Vanilla Pinwheels

The last time I made cookies of this type, I think I kinda sucked. Sure, they were quite delicious, but I knew they weren’t supposed to look dry and lopsided. Thanks to the Internet, I could try another recipe, one that a live person could vouch for. (Take that, Mrs. Field’s!) Now, if you have ever wanted to make these cookies, but the prospect of dividing the dough perfectly evenly kind of freaks you out, and you don’t have a kitchen scale (like me) keep reading.

Start with butter and sugar.

While that’s going, whisk together your dry ingredients. That’s your flour, baking powder, and salt.

Mix the two together. It might be a good idea to cover the mixer with a cloth or a towel to prevent the flour from erupting outward as the machine spins. The recipe pretty much works the mixer at capacity. I think I have a 5.5 quart Kitchenaid, so if you have a larger one, it might not be such a problem.

Now to divide the dough. I packed all of it into a large bowl and pressed it down so that the surface would be as even as possible.

Then I got out one of these… such a nifty little tool…

And I divided up the dough into four quadrants. Bonus: I just used the bowl where I mixed my dry ingredients, so no need to dirty up another one.

I wrapped two of the quadrants of vanilla dough in plastic wrap and but them in the freezer. I put one of the quadrants that was going to become chocolatey into the mixer bowl temporarily. With the last remaining quadrant, I got some cocoa powder in there and started folding it into the dough.

And there you have it! At this point, I realized just how much better this recipe is compared to the Mrs. Field’s one. At this point, the chocolate dough was flaky and powdery, not moist and flexible like this chocolate dough. Shape it into a little rectangle and wrap it in plastic wrap. Into the freezer it goes. Repeat with the other 1/4 of dough waiting for the cocoa treatment.

Get your non-stick surface ready and roll out the dough. I don’t know if I should have just put two dough rectangles on top of each other and just rolled them together, but I rolled them separately and realized it was kind of a pain to transport a thin, floppy, relatively large piece of chilled cookie dough onto another piece and align it perfectly.

Once you have them situated on top of each other, you roll everything together, cinnamon roll style.

After chilling them for a little while (like 30-45 minutes) I sliced the logs and put them on a baking sheet.

The great thing about these cookies is that they don’t spread that much when baking.

Make them! Wow your friends! :) They are delicious, buttery, and not overly sweet. Enjoy.

Checkerboard Cookies from Baking Obsession via 17 and Baking

  • 5 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 lb (2 cups or 4 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 tbsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • ½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

Follow my directions to make pinwheels, but theirs if you want to be an overachiever and make checkerboards. ;) Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for about 12-13 minutes.

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl that just relocated to Oxford, England after graduating from college. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 144 other followers

