Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin purée is finally available in stores! Supposedly though, there was a shortage last year. I had no idea. Regardless, this month (and the next two) is perfect for the spicy, homey, absolutely fabulous flavors of pumpkin and what I like to call “gingerbread spices.” My last whoopie pie adventure was a huge hit, so I was excited to try them again.

One thing to keep in mind is that these whoopie pies use oil instead of shortening, so the cookie part will not be as cakey. By cakey, I mean that fluffy, bouncy consistency when you sink your teeth into a Twinkie or a DingDong.

The recipe is Martha’s and you can find it here.

Start out of course, with your dry ingredients. You are actually supposed to put your spices with the flour, salt, baking soda, etc. but I, for some reason, thought it made sense to put the spices in with the oil…

Here’s all the other good stuff you’re going to need. Have it all laying out so that they’re all room temperature, ready for you to use.

My gorgeous, misplaced spices. And brown sugar.

Mmm, pumpkin purée! Recipe says to have it chilled, but I don’t know why… when chilled, the purée still has the same goopiness. I’ve learned to trust Martha though.

This is the brown sugar, the spices, and some oil mixed together. Heavenly, I’m telling you. This would be a perfect sweet potato casserole crust. But maybe even substitute with butter. Mmm.

The pumpkin is ready to join the party. Gorgeous.

The eggs too.

Finally, add the dry ingredients in batches.

Look at those folds… perfectly composed. Thank you, KitchenAid.

I loaded up the batter into a Ziploc bag and got it out onto my cookie sheet. Ugh, my hand is so pale and frightening. Good thing it’s Halloween.

Once those are in the oven, you’re ready to make the delicious cream cheese filling. 3 Simple ingredients: Cream cheese, butter, confectioner’s sugar.

Straight to heaven. I’m telling you. You have to believe.

Oh hey perfect timing, the whoopie pie cookies are ready. Hello, beautiful!

Assemble the cookies…

And you’re ready to devour! :)

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl that just relocated to Oxford, England after graduating from college. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

One Response to Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

  1. Pingback: Red Velvet Whoopie Pies « Krafted by Kelly

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

