Mocha Cupcakes with Mocha Frosting

Coffee is one of those flavors that translates well into various baked goods. Cupcakes are no exception. This recipe is from Krystina Castella’s book Crazy About Cupcakes that my boyfriend got me as a part of our 2-year anniversary celebration. While the photography is a little lacking in her book, it has countless recipes that I can’t wait to try. I haven’t made anything coffee flavored yet, so I thought her recipe for mocha cupcakes would be a good place to start. Per her recommendation (and admittedly a safe flavor combination), I paired the mocha cake with mocha frosting. The flavor is dense and very coffee-y, so people that like their coffee on the milky side, this may not be for you.

Mocha Cupcakes from Krystina Castella’s Crazy About Cupcakes

  • 2 cups of granulated sugar
  • 2/3 cup of unsalted butter (at room temperature)
  • 2 large eggs (at room temperature)
  • 1 cup of sour cream
  • 2 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 5 tablespoons of cocoa powder
  • 3 tablespoons of ground coffee
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 3/4 cup of strong black coffee
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

Bake for 20-25 minutes at 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Mocha Frosting from Krystina Castella’s Crazy About Cupcakes

  • 1/4 pound (1 stick) of butter at room temperature
  • 3 cups of confectioners’ sugar
  • 2 tablespoons of coffee grounds, coffee liqueur, or strong coffee
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 4 large egg yolks
  • 3 tablespoons of cocoa
  • 1 tablespoon of vanilla extract

Get all your ingredients ready at room temperature. Yes, for once I bought sour cream for baking purposes. (Do people really keep this stuff around ordinarily for everyday use?)

Make sure you have some nice fresh coffee grounds on hand too. Good thing my dad drinks a lot of “real” coffee, ’cause I’m a Starbucks bottled Frappucino kind of girl…

Get all the dry ingredients mixed together in a bowl (not the one that goes with your mixer though).

Because you sugar and butter is going into that.

As well as your eggs and sour cream.

Incorporate the dry with the wet incrementally. I have such a way words. (I am totally embarrassing myself now…)

I love watching the mixer go! Modern technology at its finest.

The KitchenAid mixer seriously creates things of beauty. I could just slip myself into these swirly folds and fall sleep. I am weird.

Not quite done yet. Add the strong coffee and a splash of vanilla extract.

Get the batter into muffin cups, about 3/4 full.

Get them out when they look all proud and puffy.

While the cupcakes are cooling, get your frosting ready. To my knowledge, this is just a buttercream-type frosting with some added coffee and cocoa. Easy.

This handheld mixer creates things of beauty too. My mixer’s work has many formal similarities to Monet’s painterly masterpieces.

Get ready to pipe! I wanted to try out my new fancy multi-star tip. Can you spot the cupcake massacre in the back?

I love this multi-star tip!

Yay for mocha cupcakes! :)

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl that just relocated to Oxford, England after graduating from college. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

One Response to Mocha Cupcakes with Mocha Frosting

  1. Pingback: Mocha Cupcakes with Mocha Fudge Frosting | thenotsocreativecook

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

