Green Tea Infused Vanilla Cupcakes with Almond Cream Cheese Frosting

This is the most exotic thing I’ve tried to date and it was an interesting journey. I usually stick to tried and true flavors, but I really wanted to try the Cupcake Project’s method of baking with tea. I’ve always loved green tea, so of course it would be a brilliant addition to the reliably delicious vanilla cupcake!

I am convinced the flavors of this cupcake work, but I think I may have to go with a less costly tea if I want to infuse more tea flavors into my bake goods. The amount of green tea I used to give this cupcake that green tea flavor was ridiculous.

The method involves steeping the loose tea in unsalted butter. Look at all that green tea! My mom was not pleased. By the way, this is the second additional mini-motherlode of green tea that I added to the existing liquid butter-green tea mixture.

I then put the green tea butter into a generic vanilla cupcake batter and mixed away. Got them situated in my muffin pan. They’re actually a little more greenish than the picture suggests.

And the finished product, after all the cooling and frosting was done! The green is a little more apparent now.

Just replace the butter of your trusted vanilla cupcake recipe with green tea butter. Et voilà!

About kraftedbykelly
I'm a California girl that just relocated to Oxford, England after graduating from college. I like to focus on baking from scratch, student-friendly cooking, and both high and low dining.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

